Saturday, May 14, 2011

Hoover/Christiansen named Co-MVPs

Record-setting Acker takes NL Cy Young

The National League MVP voters just couldn't decide whether to give the award to Heath Christiansen of Vancouver or rookie Antone Hoover of Syracuse. So, they gave it to both of them. Christiansen paced the Vancouver Grizzlies with a .327 batting average, 31 home runs, 127 RBI and a .954 OPS while rookie first baseman Hoover led the world champion Sandmen by hitting .325 with 36 home runs, 130 RBI and a .955 OPS. Hoover also took home the Rookie of the Year honors in the National League.

Montgomery's Thurman Allen was awarded the American League MVP all to himself. Allen led The Bigs with a .340 batting average while also hitting 35 home runs, 114 RBI and posting a 1.004 OPS. The Alibamu first baseman also earned a Gold Glove for his stellar defensive play throughout the season.

Anyone assuming to see Javier Henriquez win another NL Cy Young Award apparently wasn't paying enough attention to the Grizzlies' Ossie Acker. Acker set a new single season record for wins by achieving a 26-6 record to earn him his first career Cy Young Award. Acker posted a 2.69 ERA and 1.09 WHIP for the season with 179 strikeouts in 254.2 innings pitched.

The AL Cy Young Award went to Buffalo's D'Angelo Martin who sported a 23-4 record with a 3.33 ERA, 1.13 WHIP and 178 strikeouts in 243.1 innings pitched.

Rounding out the voting, the AL Rookie of the Year Award was presented to Jose Gonzalez of the Scranton Janitors. The rookie third baseman batted .304 with 12 home runs and 64 RBI in 112 games of major league action while posting a .815 OPS.

No comments: