Sunday, February 19, 2012

Lincoln wins third straight Cy Young

Gonzales caps record-setting season with MVP

Charleston's Ronn Lincoln won his third consecutive American League Cy Young Award for his season 16 in which he posted a 16-5 record with a 2.55 ERA and 188 strikeouts in 33 starts. Lincoln joins Fargo's Javier Henriquez as the only pitchers in the history of The Bigs to win three straight Cy Young Awards. It's the fourth career Cy Young for Lincoln as he also won it in season 12.

In the National League it was Atlanta's Mike Lowery taking home the NL Cy Young Award after a season in which he posted a 19-3 record and 3.01 ERA for the World Champion Bandits.

There wasn't much doubt that after smashing the single-season records for home runs and RBI and leading the league in hits, slugging percentage, OPS and runs created that Fargo's Cesar Gonzales would be named NL MVP. King Cesar hit .332 with 71 home runs, 209 RBI and a 1.094 OPS.

Charleston swept the major awards as Chew left fielder Floyd Floyd took home the AL MVP Award. Floyd hit .299 with 45 home runs, 129 RBI and a 1.016 OPS while stealing 60 bases. The MVP is the second of Floyd's career.

No comments: