Saturday, August 13, 2011

Lincoln, Almanza win second Cy Young Awards

Floyd, Hamilton take home MVP hardware

Fargo's Fausto Almanza and Charleston's Ronn Lincoln were both awarded with their second career Cy Young Awards in season 14. Winning the NL Cy Young, Almanza became the first player in the history of The Bigs to win a Cy Young Award in both the American League and the National League. Almanza finished the season with a 20-4 record, a 2.88 ERA and 223 strikeouts in 253 innings pitched. For the Chew, Lincoln went 19-4 with a 2.84 ERA and 218 strikeouts in 206.1 innings pitched.

Charleston swept the major two awards in the AL as LF Floyd Floyd was named the AL MVP for season 14. Floyd posted a .279/.399/.537 batting line with 34 homeruns, 63 stolen bases and 120 runs scored for the Chew. In the NL, Chicago Cows' Hub Hamilton took home the MVP honors. Hamilton hit .295/.366/.547 with 39 homeruns, 141 RBI, 119 runs scored and 33 stolen bases.

No comments: