Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Season-Ending Awards for Season 6

The Fargo branch of TBDN already did a great job of recapping the season-ending awards, so I won't run through all the votes again. But, as usual, I'll tell you who won, who I voted for, and why.



Winner: Osvaldo Johnson, 1B, Chicago
My vote: Johnson

Why: I know he's a 1B, but his numbers are too big to ignore. He hits for average, drives in runs, and steals bases. He's maybe not quite what he once was, but he's still very good. The other candidates were all 1B/COF types, anyway.

Cy Young

Winner: Javier Henriquez, Fargo
My vote: Stephen Michaels, Atlanta

Why: I saw these two guys as being in a virtual tie. I have absolutely no problem with Javy winning this. In fact, looking at the numbers again, I'd probably say he should have. Michaels was so close and I figured this may be his last chance to win one, while Henriquez will likely walk away from his career with so many of these trophies, he won't know what to do with them all.

Rookie of the Year

Winner: Melvin Taylor, Salem
My vote: Taylor

Why: At least I think I voted for him- I honestly don't remember. I'd have to think that batting .316 with over 30 HRs and over 100 RBI would grab my attention. I wish my veterans could put up those numbers.



Winner: Burt Stevenson, Milwaukee
My vote: Stevenson

Why: Took a serious run at the Triple Crown. He ended up winning the batting title, finished 4th in HRs, and 5th in RBI. If you didn't vote for him, you could point to his low number of games played and at-bats (116, 438, respectively), but the damage he did while in the lineup was good enough for me.

Cy Young

Winner: Miguel Benitez, Seattle
My vote: Benitez

Why: This was maybe the most interesting of all the votes I cast. St. Louis closer Carlos Carrasco had a phenomenal season, probably the best season we have ever seen out of a reliever here in the Bigs. He saved 51 out of 52 games, had an ERA of 1.80, a microscopic WHIP of 0.75, and the league hit .163 off him- those are just some of his statistical highlights. However, due to the fact that starters pitch so many more innings, their body of work has to be given more weight in a vote like this. Benitez went 23-8 with a 3.00 ERA and a WHIP of 1.16. More importantly, he pitched a Roy Halladay-like 10 complete games and therefore led the league in innings. He wasn't quite as dominant as Carrasco, but the extra 200 innings is probably more valuable to his team, so he wins the award. This is not to say I would never vote for a closer- if not for Benitez, I would have picked Carrasco here.

Rookie of the Year

Winner: Yogi Anderson, St. Louis
My vote: Anderson

Why: If you've been paying attention, I've been touting Anderson since before he got to the bigs. Went 14-6 with an ERA of 3.09 for a playoff team at the age of 22. He's only going to get better.

No comments: